Delete or close a purchase order (PO)

There is not an option to fully delete purchase orders, but what you can do instead is just mark them as “Closed”. This will remove them from the Purchasing/Receiving screens and not bring in any additional inventory for them that hasn’t already been marked as received (any existing receipts that were finalized will remain).

To do this, head over to Purchasing -> use the checkboxes on the right and the Action menu option in the upper right for “Close Selected”.

Note: This is a very different function from “Quick Receive” found on the Receiving screen: Closing the PO doesn’t bring in any inventory for it, whereas Quick Receive marks all inventory in the PO as received in one step, so be sure you’re in the Purchasing area when doing this if you are not intending to receive inventory.

Related Articles